Practice and the Art of Possibility

Monday, Feb 5, 2018
Price: 
$160-700
Doors: 
1PM / Show: 1PM
Close

About the event



25 Hours, February 5th-9th, 1PM-6PM *Use Buy Tickets link above!

$700 for Full 5 days

$160 for Individual days *Sign up thru our Class Schedule!

 

How can we get out of our own way, and clear the way to new, as yet undiscovered possibilities? We will plumb the art of possibility by exploring a skillful use of play as an approach to problem solving and discovery. There are so many ways to make what seems impossible possible by thinking outside of the box, being creative, and cultivating a more fluid growth oriented mindset rather than a fixed and limiting mindset. This means we will have to give ourselves both space and permission to make mistakes, fail even, and by doing so learn the art of "how can I, or how might we?" as opposed to "can I, or can't I?" We will also look at what we mean by the word "alignment" and how best to live this concept. We will utilize some principles of basic biomechanics and movement analysis to help us live this question.

We will explore the following:

How to cultivate a sense of possibility in our own practice and in our work with our students. Open hearted acceptance and and a sense of possibility are not mutually exclusive. They work together beautifully. We will exlpore how.

We will unpack basic, intermediate and advanced poses and how to adapt or modify them so they are nourishing and accessible.

Explore novel movements and pose variations so that we cultivate variability and resilience in body and mind.

We will experiment with how to help our students (and ourselves) become better motor learners and gain greater physical autnomy.

Dive into some deep nourishing breath work and pranayama in ways that are most helpful in toning, nourishing and strengthening the nervous system.

We will engage in some yoga philosophy discussions and simple chanting (Julia Shaida will join us again!) to explore some of the other rich dimensions of practice.

About

Carrie Owerko

Featured events

Workshop

Tapping into Your Dreams for 2018

Jennifer Partridge
Tue. January 23 - 7:00PM
Special Event

Soulstrology Soundbath

Ambi Sitham
Fri. February 2 - 8:00PM
Workshop

Cosmic Waves Moving Meditation

Yotam Agam
Sat. February 3 - 7:00PM
Workshop

Celebrating the Natural Body of the Modern Woman with Katie Wilcox

Katie Wilcox
Sun. February 18 - 4:00PM
Workshop

Tapping into Love & Relationships

Jennifer Partridge
Tue. February 27 - 7:00PM
Special Event

Full Moon Soulstrology Soundbath

Ambi Sitham
Fri. March 2 - 8:00PM
Workshop

Blissed and Blessed: A weekend to deepen our yoga on and off the mat with Eoin Finn

Eoin Finn
Sat. March 10 - 10:30AM / Sat. March 10 - 1:30PM / Sun. March 11 - 3:00PM
Workshop

Tapping into Self Love

Jennifer Partridge
Tue. March 27 - 7:00PM
Workshop

Emotional Resiliency through TRE: A Somatic Therapy Oriented Movement Workshop Series

Anahita Parseghian
Fri. February 23 - 7:00PM / Fri. March 9 - 7:00PM / Fri. March 16 - 7:00PM / Fri. March 23 - 7:00PM / Fri. March 30 - 7:00PM
Workshop

Soulstrology Soundbath

Ambi Sitham
Fri. April 6 - 8:00PM