Marla Apt Master Class: The 5 Great Elements (Mahabuttas) in Yoga Practice

Price: 
$30
Doors: 
10:45AM
Close

About the event

$30 | 11am - 1pm

According to Vedic wisdom, the five elements (earth, water, fire air and ether) exist in the material world as in our consciousness. The balance of the elements within our body leads to physical and mental health. In this class, we will explore how to access, cultivate and balance the elements through our asana practice.

About

Marla Apt

Marla is a Senior level Certified Iyengar Yoga teacher. Since visiting India for the first time to conduct research for a degree in Buddhist Philosophy, Marla has returned annually for over 20 years to pursue education in yoga under the direction of B.K.S. Iyengar and his children, Geeta and Prashant.

In a piece by Yoga Journal Magazine, Marla was highlighted as one of twenty-one young yoga teachers helping to “shape the future of yoga.”

She has assisted with medical research studies at UCLA regarding yoga as a treatment for depression, anxiety and IBS. In addition, Marla has created the first yoga therapy content to be incorporated into the curriculum of the David Gefffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

Marla teaches throughout the United States and abroad where she leads workshops, intensives, retreats and teacher training programs. She is also a writer and contributor for Yoga Journal, Yoga International and other magazines. Marla has served the national yoga community as President of the Iyengar Yoga National Association of the United States, as a current member of the National Certification Committee, creator of national ethics training for teachers and an advisor to Yoga Alliance for teacher training standards.  Marla is pursuing her interest in making the healing benefits of yoga available to communities in need as a founding board member of the non-profit organization, Iyengar Yoga Therapeutics.

Featured events

Special Event

'SABBATH SESSIONS' SOUND BATH & LAUNCH PARTY WITH CRAIG WEDREN

Craig Wedren
Sun. February 23 - 5:30PM
Special Event

Spring Equinox Soulstrology Soundbath

Ambi Sitham
Fri. March 6 - 8:00PM
Special Event

FEATURED Pop Up Workout Series - Jason Wimberly Bootcamp

LUMINHERO FEATURED: JASON WIMBERLY
Sat. March 7 - 1:30PM
Workshop

THE YOGA OF PREGNANCY AND POSTPARTUM WEEKEND [18 training hrs]

Jessica Jennings
Fri. March 13 - 6:30PM / Sat. March 14 - 9:00AM / Sun. March 15 - 9:00AM
Workshop

Illuminated Anatomy: Cruising the Core [5 training hrs]

Nikki Vilella
Mon. March 16 - 12:00PM
Workshop

Kula Flow Master Class: Illuminated Anatomy

Nikki Vilella
Mon. March 16 - 12:00PM
Workshop

KINSTRETCH: AN EXPLORATION IN BODY CONTROL

Beth Lewis
Sat. March 21 - 1:00PM
Special Event

April Soulstrology Soundbath

Ambi Sitham
Fri. April 3 - 8:00PM
Workshop

Yoga Nidra For Everyone: A Training for Teachers from All Traditions [50 training hrs]

Hilary Jackendoff
Fri. May 1 - 10:00AM / Sat. May 2 - 10:00AM / Sun. May 3 - 10:00AM / Fri. May 15 - 10:00AM / Sat. May 16 - 10:00AM / Sun. May 17 - 10:00AM
Workshop

75 Hour Art of Kula Style Yoga Teacher Intensive

Schuyler Grant, Matt Phippen, & Justine Malick
Sat. May 23 - 10:30AM / Sun. May 24 - 10:30AM / Mon. May 25 - 9:00AM / Tue. May 26 - 9:00AM / Wed. May 27 - 9:00AM / Thu. May 28 - 9:00AM / Fri. May 29 - 9:00AM